School Logo

Devonshire Primary School

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details

Who's Who



Chair of Governors: Emma Lavery

Vice-Chair: Anne Arnold

Clerk to the Governors: Lynn Atkins


The governing body of Devonshire Primary School, like all maintained school governing bodies, is comprised of different types of governors.


  • Parent governors - are elected by parents of children in the school. To be eligible for election a parent must have a child at the school at the time of election.
  • Co-opted governors - are individuals appointed by the governing body because of their special expertise that will contribute to the effective governance and success of the school and their commitment to the school.
  • Local Authority (LA) governor - is nominated by Sutton Local Authority and appointed by the governing body.
  • Staff governor - is elected by staff at the school. To be eligible for election a member of staff must be employed by the local authority to work at the school.
  • Headteacher - the Headteacher is an ex-officio member of the governing body (by virtue of the office).


The governing body appoints associate members with special skills to contribute on issues relating to their specific expertise.



Governor's Full NameCategory of GovernorAppointed byCurrent Terms of Office From

Terms of Office To

Umair AhsanCo-optedGoverning Body13/3/202412/3/2028
Anne ArnoldCo-optedGoverning Body16/11/202115/11/2025
Jennifer BrooksParentParents20/9/202119/9/2025
Jyothi GopalliParentParents22/04/202421/04/2028
Colin IddlesLEA GovernorGoverning Body28/11/202327/11/2027
Harriet KenneyParentParents11/12/202310/12/2027
Charlotte KingStaff GovernorGoverning Body26/5/202425/5/2027
Emma LaveryCo-optedGoverning Body12/11/202211/11/2026
Amin MirzaCo-optedGoverning Body06/07/202305/07/2027
Fiona OastlerHeadteacher (ex-officio)Governing Body01/09/2017Ex Officio
Cecile OdentParentParents22/04/202421/04/2028
Charlotte KingStaff GovernorGoverning Body26/5/202425/5/2027
Jack WadmanCo-optedGoverning Body28/11/202327/11/2027


NB: There is one parent governor vacancy and we will be seeking to fill these in Autumn 2024

Governors whose term of office ended in 2023-2024


Governor's Full NameCategory of GovernorTerms of Office From

Date stepped down

Gillian GriffinCo-opted01/04/202312/03/2024
Will HallamParent12/11/202212/03/2024
Smitha KondajjiParent12/11/202212/03/2024
Trudy SumnerStaff8/2/202125/5/2024